Governing Body Information :

The Governing Body plays a vital role in the life of the school. It is responsible for setting the overall strategy, vision and ethos of the school, formulating and reviewing school policies and overseeing the educational and financial performance of the school. Our aim is to provide the best possible education, in the best possible environment for the children who attend St.Francis’ Catholic Primary School with children’s best interests central to decision making.

The Governing Body has a maximum of 16 Governors who are very conscientious and diligent and who take their responsibilities very seriously. They are not paid and they do not receive any expenses. They all freely and voluntarily give their time and effort to the school. Nine of the Governors are appointed by the Diocese of Lancaster (Foundation). They come from a variety of backgrounds and they bring many different skills and experiences to the school.

Overview of Committees The main Committees of the Governing Body were as follows:

Business, Finance (Including Buildings, Health and Safety)

Chair: Mrs Suzanne Hall

Remit: Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent. Ensuring that staffing is appropriate to the needs and resources of the school.

Standards, Effectiveness and Curriculum

Chair: Mr Chris Moran

Remit: Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils.

Name Governor


Term of

Office Ends



Position of


Register of Interests
Miss Sarah Deakin Headteacher N/A All Member of staff
Mr Michael Blair Foundation 20/08/2020 B&F



Chair of Governors

Safeguarding Lead

Mr John Cosgrove Parent 31/03/2018 B&F
Mr Robert Coupe Foundation 18/08/2020 B&F
Mr Andrew Dickinson Foundation 18/08/2020 B&F
Mr James Gilmour Staff 15/09/21 SEC  Member of Staff
Mr Phil Griffiths Co-opted 01/12/2019 B&F
Mr Michael Bryan Foundation  19/01/21 SEC
Mrs Suzanne Hall Local Authority 25/03/2018 B&F


Chair of B&F
Mrs Alison Holden Co-opted 24/11/2019 B&F


Mrs Ann Huddleston Foundation 18/08/2029  



 SEND Governor
Mrs Joan Marshall Foundation 25/09/2018 SEC
Mr Chris Moran Foundation 31/10/2018 SEC  Vice Chair of Governors

Chair of SEC

Mrs Victoria Coupe Parent 14/12/2020 SEC
Mr George Ashton Foundation B&F

All terms of office have been agreed to be 4 years.

Miss Deakin holds office for the duration of her tenure at the School.

Click on the link to see the attendance register records.